Steamed Tofu with Minced Pork and Carrots

My family has a happy appetite. We love to eat together and I love cooking delightful dishes for them. But there are times I get so tired from other chores that I feel lazy to cook so it’s good to know simple dishes that can be served in a snap! For my first recipe, I will share with you one of my family’s favorite – a tofu dish.

I actually learned this from a friend who invited us for dinner. And in Shanghai,  I always see this kind of dish so I guess this is a local food here. I tweaked it a bit so it’s now my recipe! Hehe! This recipe is very versatile because you can interchange the ingredients depending on what’s available in your pantry. I sometimes use ground beef instead of pork and mushroom instead of carrots. The variety is endless.

Whenever I cook, I barely measure the ingredients. I just eyeball everything and adjust the taste according to my liking. So the measurements that I will give you is not really accurate. Oh the beauty of cooking, you can modify everything if you want to. Okay, let’s get it started! For the ingredients, you will need:

  • about a cup of minced carrot
  • 1 cup of minced onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • ground pork
  • soft tofu
  • chopped spring onions (for garnishing)
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

I get so excited at this point.

Steam tofu for about 12-15 minutes. Set aside. Saute garlic in olive oil until it becomes fragrant. Add onion and continuously saute them until the onion becomes translucent. This time, add in the pork. Cook for about 8-10 minutes or until pork is no longer pink. Lastly, mix in the carrots. Put a dash of light soy sauce and a little oyster sauce. Cook for another 4-5 minutes until pork and carrots are cooked. Season with salt and pepper.

Prepare the steamed tofu in a serving dish and top it with the pork and carrot mixture. Garnish with spring onions and serve it hot! I pair this with steamed bokchoy or any vegetable available in our fridge.

539

The finish product

Tofu is a good source of Vitamin E, Calcium, Energy, Total Fat, Carbohydrates, Fiber and Isoflavones which scavenge free radicals responsible for deteriorating cellular function. It also has Iron, Copper, Manganese and Omega 3. These are just some of the benefits Tofu has. Apart from this, we love Tofu because it is simply delicious! Haha! Who doesn’t love Tofu, ‘di ba?

So the next time you get lazy tired from work or other chores and you need a simple dish to cook, try this recipe. It’s easy peasy, healthy and oh so yummy.

Try it and let me know if you like it. Enjoy!!!

Xoxo, Annie

PS: Sorry for the poor quality of the pictures. I am still on the verge of learning the art of capturing photos of sumptuous food. Hehe!

4 thoughts on “Steamed Tofu with Minced Pork and Carrots

  1. Hi Annie! What do you use in steaming the tofu? Any tips on how to do this properly? Tagal ko na gusto mag-attempt gumawa ng ganito pero natatakot ako baka masira ko si tofu!

    Like

    • Hello Leah! Originally, yung recipe dito requires boiling. So yung mga locals what they do is just remove the tofu to the packaging and put it in boiling water. Nasisira talaga siya! 😦 i chose to steam it kasi mas may chance na mas maayos yung ichura. Hehe! I just transfer it to a heat-proof dish,cover with foil and steam for 12-15 minutes. It reeally requires gentle hands para konti lang yung “damage” sa tofu. Try it next time. Hope it works well. 🙂

      Like

  2. hey Annie! You rock! Love your new blog! I was really eyeing your food at your Instagram! Specially those menu you prepared for lia. Excited to see more of your recipe! Godspeed! Thanks! Your so inspiring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

