Stamping with Pretty Bok Choi Butts

Don’t you feel Christmas is just so near? OMG, one month to go! Have you been doing your shopping already? I get so excited every time just about thinking about Christmas because it’s actually our first time to spend it altogether in the Philippines, with all our loved ones and friends. And because Christmas season also means gift wrapping season, Lia and I made a little DIY to add cheers to our gifts.

I cooked “Bulalo” sometime last week and used bunch of Bok Choi. Whenever I cut the bottom part of these, I always smile and look at the rose-like form of the Pechay’s stalk or their butts. Hehe! Actually, I always save them to use as stamp for our arts and crafts. And I remembered the brown paper bags that I got. Light bulb! Why don’t we prettify them, right?

I told Lia we will “stamp” some flowers to our bags so our gifts for our loved ones will be all nice and pretty and of course the little girl agreed with glee. Hihihi! Because my little helper is still so young, I use very simple but fun materials that we have at home. I also mentioned last timeย that I will be teaching Lia color mixingย to produce secondary colors. We did that with this project, too. Talking about hitting two birds with one stone…

For this project, we used:

  • Finger Paints
  • Stalks of bok choi that we normally throw away aka bok choi butts ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Mixing plate
  • Brown paper bags or any plain bags or paper! Yes, you can also make your own gift wrapper with this

Isn’t it pretty?

There are no rules on this. Just stamp away. Use your imagination and you don’t need to be perfect. For me, if it’s more rustic, then I like it better. Parang vintage lang. And pretty things don’t need to be perfect naman talaga. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lia was so amused when we mixed the color together. “Oh Mom, it turned Violet. Oh this ones Orange!” We already have readily available green paint so I just showed her that when she mixes Yellow and Blue, they will make Green. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

We are mixing Blue and Red!

After making the Secondary Colors, we started stamping. ๐Ÿ™‚

Gee, this is fun!

 

image6

image4

I also made some. ๐Ÿ™‚ It has been hours of fun with stamping. And I am sure our Aunties, in Lia’s case, her “Lolas” will be really glad to see these. We will be stuffing these bags with… Ah! That will be a surprise. Hihihi! Let me show you our finish products:

Tadahhhh!!!

 

Lia’s bag. So cute!

 

Orange roses are very pretty!

 

And Violets, too!

 

image3

This one, we painted using our finger tips. ๐Ÿ™‚ Equally pretty, right?

You guys like them? ๐Ÿ™‚

I am thinking of carving potatoes next time to use as stamps. And I like gold paints to use, too! Exciting!

Hope you guys liked our simple DIY. Till the next!

Xoxo, Annie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

