Sweets for my Sweet: Lia ‘s Dessert Buffet

I feel so productive today. I cooked lunch, made some Valentines project with Lia, and I managed to fix my closet and segregate old clothes to give away. Richard and I kasi share the same closet here in Pinas (ang sweet no? *laughs*) kasi all of our stuff naman are mostly in Shanghai so I decided to do a little spring cleaning before I get too busy for the week at maging spacious ulit our cabinet. It looks fresh and clean now. I am so happy. ๐Ÿ™‚ And para itodo na ang pagiging productive, i-blog na rin ang first ever dessert buffet that I made for Lia’s 3rd birthday.

I have always been a fan of this dessert buffet thing kasi basically I love sweets. Well, dati yun pero I noticed lately parang nabawasan na my love for desserts. Dati kasi I can eat a whole slice of cake. Ngayon parang 1/4 or half na lang. I know, I know… Signs of ageing noh?! Hehe! Tsaka di ba it’s fun to have this kind of buffet lalo pag maraming kids?

Okay, so months before Lia’s birthday, naisip ko to make my own. Try lang, kahit hindi bongga. I tried planning this thing. Checked out Pinterest… Hmmm… Ang elaborate ng mga designs. Ayoko naman to spend a lot for this kasi parang added attraction lang naman to for her birthday. Kaya the first thing I did was I made halungkat my mom’s kitchen to look for canisters and jars to use, so I won’t buy na. And it was a success! Found treasures on our own kitchen. Then I told myself, push na. Let’s do this!

And tadaaaaah! Presenting, Lia’s dessert buffet made with love.

The Birthday Girl ๐Ÿ™‚

The table I used was my old study table and I just asked my mom to do simple skirting. Success din. I know how to do this back in college pero I totally forgot about it na kaya ang saya ko when I knew that Mama still knows pa pala how to do this. Mom kasi was THE teacher but eventually she got promoted. She’s not teaching anymore pero buti she knows pa din. Cool, right? Going back, the dessert buffet was really simple. Check out what I put in it:

Sweets!!!

Love the colors!

Basically, it was just mixture of candies and chocolates and some biscuits and jellies that I bought from the local grocery. What I envisioned kasi is to have different textures and flavors. Kaya there were gummy bears, chocolates, yoghurt sticks, mallows and wafers – combination of sweet, tangy and crunchy stuff. Para may different depth yung taste. Jars and ceramic bowls from my Mom’s cabinet. Small, colorful bowls are from Ikea from way way back pa. The food tower was from Lia’s Ninang Meg that we borrowed lang. The popcorn holders, well from the ever trusty National Bookstore. Letters I got from Invitation House in Megamall. Individually priced at Php120 pero when we were there, sale so I got each na lang at Php94. Not bad! ๐Ÿ™‚ Cake from Red Ribbon, gift din from Lia’s Ninang Achi and Ninong Tim. Thank you!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

๐Ÿ™‚

The popcorn mix was inspired byย Stacy’s. They serve something like this whenever their guests wait for their orders. Well, haven’t tried Stacy’s though. I saw it lang on Instagram. Hehe!ย Popcorn was from Chef Tony’s, that was White Chocolate Parmesan. ๐Ÿ™‚

Pretzels, Popcorn and Mallows

The highlight of the buffet was these yummy cuppies from Babob’s Cakes and Cupcakes. These homemade goodies were baked fresh from the oven of my former boss’ son. Fell in love with these last time I ordered just in time for the Chinese New Year. The ones on top rack are Red Velvet Cupcakes and the ones at the bottom are Choco Yema. They are really moist, have the right amount of sweetness and super yummy! As in! Everybody was raving about the Choco Yema cuppies, naghahanap pa nga sila but I saved some for myself kasi di ba when you hold a party, hindi ka nakakakain well so ayun, sa sobrang sarap, ipagdadamot mo talaga *laughs*. And additional tip: Kevin, the guy who bakes these is cute so yung mga walang ka-date dyan, go order na kay Kevin. Magaling na magluto, cute pa. Hahaha!

Yummy cuppies from Babob’s Cakes and Cupcakes

Lia and friends enjoying sweets ๐Ÿ™‚ Minsan minsan lang naman e.

Ang saya pala to put them all together. Sayang, school day kaya konti lang the kids who came. Nonetheless, the kids enjoyed and syempre the adults, too. Ang hy-hyper when the night ended. Haha! So there… Second part of my blog post about Lia’s birthday.

Have a sweet night!

Annie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

